Prior Park Dams Project
We have advised on the repair and renewal of the middle dam, masonry walls and associated culverts, cascade and walls, for the dam.
This has been a technically challenging project demanding close co-operation with the client, landscape architects, civil engineers, local authority and contractor.
The Bishop’s Palace at Wells was created by Bishop Jocelin in the early 13th century with Bishop Burnell’s imposing Great Hall added c.1280. Following the Reformation the Hall fell into disrepair, and further demolished in the 1820’s to create a then fashionable Picturesque garden. The Trust wish to re-establish the wall walk using the ruinous Hall remains, carefully interweaving existing walkways and spiral staircases with carefully detailed new walkways; allowing the building, landscape and city to be full appreciated by visitors.
Conservation and repair of the manor and farm buildings with renewal of interpretation throughout, together with upgrade of visitor facilities.
This includes a new entrance through the South Road Barn, the expansion of the cafe and kitchen in the stable barn, new toilets, and a proposed learning building in the farmyard.
The repair of a late 18c water mill and 19c barn at Hestercombe Gardens, and their conversion into an education centre. Old equipment has been refitted in the mill, together with an exhibition of early energy production. The barn has become a multi function education space.
The intention was to demonstrate how old buildings can be converted sensitively, and incorporate low energy modifications. The roofs, walls and floors have been super insulated, and the complex is heated with a log batch burning boiler.